Monster Army

AOTW: Samantha Soriano

Author: Olivia Reed

Hey Samantha, tell us how everything has been going?

This season has definitely been a challenge for me. I'm not exactly performing where I want to be, but racing will always have its highs and lows. Just have to be patient and wait for it all to come together. This will be my first season as a full time elite so I am learning a ton. I'm having so much fun at each of the races and obviously getting the chance to travel doing the sport that I love. 

What have you been working on lately?

As of lately, I have just been working up my mental strength, as it is a huge element of racing. On the riding aspect of things, I've mostly been working on getting my speed up to par and pushing my limits. 

Where is your favorite place to ride?

My favorite place to ride would definitely have to be in Andorra. It reminds me a lot of the riding here in Colorado but much more technical, which is my favorite type of riding.

Who do you like to ride with?

I love to ride with my older brother and my best friends. My older brother Ross has made me into the rider that I am today so it is always a blast to ride with him all while learning how I can improve my riding as well. 

What can we expect next from you?

I will be traveling back to Europe shortly for a team camp in Andorra then to the doubleheader World Cups in Andorra and Les Gets, France. 

Do you get to enjoy Summer and wind down, or is that the busy season?

I wish I could say I have downtime during the summer, but usually from May until September I am traveling and racing. I most often have a race every week or every other week during these couple of months. However, I really enjoy these months of traveling and racing, most of my treasured memories have been made during my busy summer months. 

What’s your go-to chill activity?

My go-to chill activity would have to be playing the piano or watching Netflix. 

Favorite food…

My favorite food might not be the healthiest but I am a fiend for sour gummy candy. 

Favorite music…

My favorite music is either indie or electronic music. 

When you were younger and people asked you what you wanted to be when you grow up, what did you say?

I have been riding a bike since I was four and I raced BMX for 10 years. When I was younger I told people that I wanted to be a professional BMX racer. 

Any last thank yous or shout outs?

I can't express my gratitude enough to Commencal USA and my sponsors that have supported me throughout my racing career. I really wouldn't be performing at the level that I am not without their support, on and off the bike. And no racer is really complete without their family. My parents and siblings have helped me achieve my goals and continually support my dream of being a top elite racer.