Monster Army
APPLY   OR   Sign In

AOTW: Hunter Carey

Author: Olivia Reed

Hey Hunter, how did 2018 finish up for you?

2018 was a pretty great year for me. I started out with just Rev Tour competitions and other NorAm Cups. Towards the end of the year I took 5th at the Junior World Championships in New Zealand for halfpipe. Then, just this past month in December I competed in my first World Cup at Copper Mountain. The last comp of 2018 was a double NorAm Rev Tour at Copper and I grabbed 6th place both days. This past year has been really fun.

What do you have planned for the new year?

For the new year I have a lot of training and competitions to look forward to. Starting towards the end of January and all they way through early March I will be constantly traveling and competing in different places. I go to Switzerland, Canada, Copper, Aspen, and Mammoth. Hopefully I can place well at these comps and work my way up the ladder.

Do you have a trip planned for this upcoming year that you’re most excited about? 

I am leaving for Junior Worlds in Switzerland at the end of January. I am really excited for this because I have always wanted to go to Switzerland and excited to be going to Junior Worlds for my 2nd year in a row. This should be a really fun trip with a bunch of my good friends.

What do you think your favorite place you’ve traveled to has been?

I went to New Zealand this past summer for the first time and that was really fun place and experience. I got to go there for Junior Worlds with a lot of my friends. The skiing was really fun and the town was also amazing. It was right on a lake and lots of beautiful scenery. I am really into photography, so on our last day in New Zealand we went sight seeing. I got a lot of great photos on that trip.

Any weird customs or experiences you got to have while traveling?

I haven't experienced a lot of weird customs while traveling, but one thing that really stood out to me was in New Zealand I have never driven on the left side of the road. This took awhile to get used to. It just felt weird and not normal to be driving on the other side of the road.

Are there any pros that you look up to or that inspire you?

When I was really young I watched Bobby Brown's videos a lot and I went to X games to watch a few times and he signed a few of my clothing pieces. As I started competing in more higher level halfpipe comps I started to look up to everyone on the US ski team. Now that I am competing in Grand Prix and other high level events I get to actually compete with these big dogs and it is a crazy feeling.

Favorite thing to do when you’re not skiing….

I never really used to do anything besides skiing, but this past summer my best friend Mitch Lukes got me into downhill biking. My hometown of Winter Park, Colorado has an amazing bike park in the summer, so getting into biking and learning a whole new sport at this amazing mountain was really fun. Besides biking in the summer I just like to hang out with friends around my hometown. I also do a lot of photography.

Favorite Food…

Grilled Cheese is hands down my favorite food. I have always loved when my mom made me grilled cheese for lunch or dinner when I was a kid. Now, I make a grilled cheese all the time.

What does a typical day look like for you?

A typical day for me during the week starts by waking up for school first. I go to school from 8am till 12 pm and then I leave to go skiing and train in the afternoon. My school has a full-time ski program that lets skiers and snowboarders take classes in the morning and then leave in the afternoon to train. After ski training I usually go to my Rec Center and workout and some days I do yoga. On the weekends I go to training from 9 till 3 on Fridays through Sundays with workouts after training.

Any last thanks you or shout outs?

I would like to thank Monster Army, K2 Skis, and Winter Park Resort for the constant support throughout my skiing. Also the Winter Park Freeski Team including Birk Irving, Svea Irving, Dylan Ladd, Connor Ladd, and Liam Baxter. My coaches and family have supported me from the very beginning going to all my comps and helping me out.